Eva Meitner is a German conductor of French-German origin. Since January 2015 she is chief conductor of the Sinfonisches Orchester Hoyerswerda and since 2018 chief conductor of the Freies Orchester Leipzig. Since 2018 she's also conductor of projects with the Konzertchor Leipzig and conducting teacher at Erfurt University since season 15/16. She plays also piano/harmonium at the Trio CornoVoce and Duo TastoCorno. Since 2017/18 she's also a mentor at the Mentoring arts programme of the Leipzig Musikhochschule.
Eva Meitner has a very special interest on works from female composers. She conducted an all female composers programme with works from Amy Beach, Alice Mary Smith, Fanny Hensel, Ethel Smyth and Susanne Hardt at the Festival of Lights Leipzig 2018 with Freies Orchester Leipzig. In February 2019 she conducts a CD recording session with Filmorchester Babelsberg with works from 11 women composers of the female composers' collective Track15.

 

In March 2015 she participated in a conducting workshop with Kristjan Järvi and the Baltic Sea Youth Philharmonic in Luslawice, Poland. In September 2015 she participated in a conducting masterclass with Kurt Masur at Gewandhaus Leipzig and a conducting masterclass with Hamburger Symphoniker with Prof. Ulrich Windfuhr and Prof. David de Villiers in Hamburg. Currently she assists the deputy General Music Director Anthony Bramall in productions at Leipzig Opera (season 13/14: Stravinsky "The Rake's Progress", Verdi "Missa da Requiem"; season 14/15 Verdi "Nabucco", Gounod "Faust", Donizetti "Don Pasquale", Brecht/Weill “Die Dreigroschenoper”, Puccini “Madama Butterfly”; season 15/16 Bernstein "Trouble in Tahiti"/Barber "A hand of bridge", Rachmaninov piano concertos 2&3, Puccini "Madama Butterfly", Humperdinck "Dornröschen", Gounod "Faust", Verdi "Nabucco", Brecht/Weill "Dreigroschenoper", Rossini "Cenerentola").

During her school years Eva Meitner studied violin, flute, piano and voice. In the years 2003-2009 Eva Meitner successfully completed her general music studies (main subject: "conducting") at the University of Music Trossingen. In the years 2011-2013 Eva Meitner studied "Master of conducting" (orchestral conducting with Mr. Martin Hoff, choir conducting with Prof. Jürgen Puschbeck) at the University of Music FRANZ LISZT Weimar. During the season 13/14 she was artistic and musical director of the Werkstattorchester Dresden. In 2014 she obtained a bursary from the Richard Wagner Scholarship Foundation and conducted Mozart’s “Entführung aus dem Serail” at Pforzheim theatre. Furthermore she was one of the International Opera Awards Foundation bursary recipients 2014.

Conducting the Hochschulsinfonieorchester Trossingen, Jena Philharmonic, Werkstattorchester Dresden, Sinfonisches Orchester Hoyerswerda, Badische Philharmonie Pforzheim, Landeskapelle Eisenach, Philharmonisches Orchester Freiburg, Staatsphilharmonie Nürnberg, Baltic Sea Youth Philharmonic, Hamburger Symphoniker, Mitteldeutsches Kammerorchester and members of the MDR-Sinfonieorchester and the Gewandhausorchester (conducting masterclass 2014 Mendelssohnhaus Leipzig) Eva Meitner could already get some important experience in conducting professional orchestras.

Eva Meitner completed her studies by listening to rehearsals at Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar, Leipzig Opera, Hamburg State Opera, Deutsche Oper Berlin, MDR Sinfonieorchester and Gewandhausorchester Leipzig.

Eva Meitner

Eva Meitner ist eine deutsch-französische Dirigentin. Seit 1.1.2015 ist sie Chefdirigentin des Sinfonischen Orchesters Hoyerswerda und seit 2018 Chefdirigentin des Freien Orchesters Leipzig. Seit dem Sommersemester 2015 ist sie als Lehrbeauftragte im Fach Dirigieren an der Universität Erfurt tätig. Seit der Saison 2017/18 widmet sie sich darüber hinaus nun auch wieder verstärkt der Kammermusik und spielt Harmonium, Toy Piano und Klavier beim Duo TastoCorno. Zudem ist sie seit dem Wintersemester 2017/18 als Mentorin im Rahmen des Mentoring Arts (m-arts) Programm der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Leipzig tätig.

Eva Meitner hegt ein besonderes Interesse für die Werke von Komponistinnen. So dirigierte sie beim Lichtfest Leipzig im Oktober 2018 mit dem Freien Orchester Leipzig ein Programm bestehend aus Werken der Komponistinnen Amy Beach, Fanny Hensel, Alice Mary Smith, Ethel Smyth und Susanne Hardt vor 15000 Menschen. Im Februar 2019 dirigierte sie zudem Werke von 11 Komponistinnen mit dem Filmorchester Babelsberg für eine CD Aufnahme des Track15 female composers collective für UNIVERSAL music.

Im März 2015 nahm sie an einem conducting workshop mit Kristjan Järvi und der Baltic Sea Youth Philharmonic in Luslawice (Polen) teil. Im September 2015 nahm sie an einem Meisterkurs Dirigieren mit Kurt Masur im Gewandhaus Leipzig und einem Meisterkurs Dirigieren mit den Hamburger Symphonikern bei Prof. Ulrich Windfuhr und Prof. David de Villiers in Hamburg teil. Von 2013-16 assistierte sie dem stellvertretenden GMD Anthony Bramall bei Produktionen an der Oper Leipzig (Stravinsky "The Rake's Progress", Gounod "Faust", Donizetti "Don Pasquale", Brecht/Weill “Die Dreigroschenoper”, Puccini “Madama Butterfly”, Bernstein "Trouble in Tahiti"/Barber "A hand of bridge", Rachmaninov piano concertos 2&3, Puccini "Madama Butterfly", Humperdinck "Dornröschen", Rossini "Cenerentola").

Während ihrer Schulzeit erhielt Eva Meitner Unterricht in den Fächern Violine, Querflöte, Klavier und Gesang. In den Jahren 2003-2009 studierte Eva Meitner Schulmusik mit Schwerpunkt Dirigieren bei Prof. Manfred Schreier an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik Trossingen. Von 2011 bis 2013 studierte Eva Meitner Master Dirigieren an der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt Weimar (Orchesterdirigieren bei Martin Hoff, Chordirigieren bei Prof. Jürgen Puschbeck). Für die Spielzeit 13/14 war sie als Künstlerische Leiterin und Dirigentin des Werkstattorchesters Dresden engagiert. 2014 dirigierte sie Mozarts "Entführung aus dem Serail" am Theater Pforzheim. 2014 war sie außerdem Stipendiatin des Richard-Wagner-Verbandes Konstanz und Stipendiatin der International Opera Awards Foundation (London).

Dirigentische Erfahrung konnte Eva Meitner bisher mit dem Hochschulsinfonieorchester Trossingen, der Jenaer Philharmonie, dem Werkstattorchester Dresden, dem Sinfonischen Orchester Hoyerswerda, der Badischen Philharmonie Pforzheim, der Landeskapelle Eisenach, dem Philharmonischen Orchester Freiburg, der Staatsphilharmonie Nürnberg, der Baltic Sea Youth Philharmonic, den Hamburger Symphonikern, dem Mitteldeutschen Kammerorchester und mit Mitgliedern des MDR-Sinfonieorchesters und Gewandhausorchesters (Meisterkurs Leipzig 2014) sammeln.

Hospitationen beim Deutschen Nationaltheater Weimar, der Oper Leipzig, der Staatsoper Hamburg, der Deutschen Oper Berlin, beim MDR-Sinfonieorchester und am Gewandhaus ergänzten ihre Studien.